Two things that will change the course of your life…

At the beginning of a new year most of take time to reflect on things we want to change or do better in the new year. Like you, I have done some reflecting this past week. I’ve realized that there are two basic things that you can do on a daily basis that will change the course of your life for the better. Those two things are prayer and reading the Bible. We have all heard it said, time and time again, that we need to pray and read the Word of God, but most of us just hear it and never do it. These two simple disciplines implemented in your life really will make a difference!  Since January 1, 2013, I have made it a priority to take time every day to pray and read the Bible, and I can honestly say it has made a difference in me. That is why I write today, to hopefully stir you up to make prayer and reading the Bible a part of your everyday life. It will change your world!  It doesn’t have to take a lot of time.  Get a good devotional or start a plan on your phone.  Keep it simple and you are more likely to do it!

prayer
“The power prayer has never been tried to its full capacity. If we want to see mighty wonders of divine power and grace wrought in the place of weakness, failure and disappointment, let us answer God’s standing challenge, “Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things which thou knowest not!'” -J. Hudson Taylor

Why is it so hard for us to make time for prayer and reading the Word of God? Life is busy, I agree. It is funny though how we will make time for the things we really want to do! If we could just get a glimpse of the marvelous opportunity we have to come into the very presence of the Most High God, we would run to talk with Him. We would drop everything we are doing just to seek His face.

“Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere…” Psalm 84:10 NIV

 
When I was in college I had the great privilege of attending a church that had prayer in the sanctuary every day,  morning, noon and night!  At first, it was hard for me to sit still and pray. I wasn’t sure what to say, what to do exactly. As I began to open my mouth and just talk to God, worship Him, tell Him how much I loved Him, I thanked Him for all that He had done in me and all He was going to do. I began to pray scriptures and make confessions over myself , I became addicted to prayer…addicted to getting into the presence of God. He is the lover of my soul. Prayer has so many benefits. It helps you to calm down, get quiet, and allows you to really hear what God is saying to you. If you need direction, you will find it in prayer. If you are stressed, overwhelmed and need a break, you will find peace when you make time to pray and get alone with God. Prayer helps you to see things differently. If you need a new perspective on life, pray! My favorite way to pray is with worship music. I pop in a good worship CD and I’m on my way to entering into the sweet presence of God! Things begin to change in me, they will in you too!

 
“Never stop praying.” 1 Thessalonians 5:17

Reading the Bible gives you wisdom for life. It gives you direction and helps you to find out more about God. The Bible is our GPS for life. I couldn’t make it without my GPS. I would be lost, driving in circles. That is a lot like we are without the Word of God leading us on a daily basis. You may try to find your own way for a while, but having the direction of God is a lot better!
bible“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.” Psalm 119:105

“Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me. All day long I put my hope in you.” Psalm 25:5

We are 8 days into 2013. It’s not too late…You can still make a fresh start. Make a decision today and change the course of your life!

Within the covers of the Bible are the answers for all the problems men face. – Ronald Reagan

Philippians 4:13 says: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

seek-n-find-god

YOU CAN DO IT!

4 thoughts on “Two things that will change the course of your life…

  1. Prayer brings the presence of God, and we need to be addicted to that. That should be the goal of every serious Christian, is to be addicted to the presence of God in prayer. If only more people understood what you said in that statement. Secondly, God works from the inside out, but we leave God in a glass on the counter and do not drink of Him. When we pray we take a good drink of Him. No matter how much you want the juice to work for you as it sets on the counter, you cannot make it happen, but once you drink Him in, then, neither can you stop the juice from working! The only way you can stop it is to stop drinking! Drink God’s juice, People! And watch a spiritual chemistry begin to work in you as only God can. Great article, Misty.

Leave a Reply

