Stagnation Stinks!

stagnation

It was Friday evening at 5:30pm and we had a Christmas Party planned for 7:00pm. I rushed home from work to get the house ready for our guests set to arrive in a couple of hours. As I drove home I made a mental list of all I had to do: vacuum the house, clean the bathrooms, prepare the food and wrap a couple of White Elephant Gifts… you will never see Wonder Woman and me in the same room, just saying. You might be thinking, why in the world would you wait until Friday evening, the night of the party to do all this work? Normally, I would not. I am usually very good about preparing ahead of time, but not this week. As I threw open the door at home and began my mad rush to get the house ready for the party I started with the vacuuming. We have a Rainbow vacuum cleaner, for those of you who don’t have a clue what I’m talking about, it has a basin of water that holds all the dirt and grime, instead of the traditional vacuum bag in most vacuums and you simply dump the water out after your done. I vacuumed the whole house and finished all of my other chores just in time for the first guest to arrive. I hurriedly shoved the vacuum cleaner, with the dirty water in the basin in the closet and thought to myself, I will empty the water after everyone leaves. Needless to say, I forgot and I just realized last night, over a week later, that the water in the vacuum was never thrown out. When I opened up the closet where the vacuum was siting, there was the most foul, horrendous odor I’ve ever smelled. The water had sat in the basin for over a week, stagnate. It was dirty, dingy and foul. 
I got to thinking of the stagnate things in our life. Things we shove in the closet to deal with later.  If you let it go too long it will start to stink.  Your emotions will stink, your thoughts will stink, your life will stink.  The thing is if you are not moving forward in life, you are either stagnate or moving backwards, neither of which is a good place to be. Stagnation is defined as:
Having stopped, as by ceasing to run or flow: a foulness or staleness, as one emanating from a standing pool of water. A failure to develop, progress, or advance, the state or quality of being or feeling sluggish and dull.

My question to you is have you stopped running towards your dreams? Are you standing still, not moving forward in life, stagnate? Are you developing yourself, making progress, moving swiftly toward your dreams? Or, are you feeling sluggish & dull? Stagnation stinks. I know first-hand the foul odor of stagnation. If you allow yourself to stand still, your life will start to stink, just like that old vacuum water I left in the closet. You have to get rid of the things that hold you back and make a fresh new start. As we near the end of 2012, it’s the perfect time to make new goals and have a fresh start for 2013.

keep_moving_forward

We have to continually press forward into the good things God has for us.  Take a look at the verse below:

“I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:13

“I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.” Philippians 4:12-14 The Message

dreams

I hope this post stirs you to get up, and get yourself off and running towards your potential, your dreams, the great things God has for you in 2013. Don’t allow yourself to become stagnate.  Keep pressing forward! It may be difficult, but with God on your side, you can do it!  God has amazing things ahead for you!

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.”  1 Corinthians 2:9

forward

3 thoughts on “Stagnation Stinks!

Leave a Reply

