Creating A Paradigm Shift

“Each of us tends to think we see things as they are, that we are objective. But this is not the case. We see the world, not as it is, but as we are—or, as we are conditioned to see it.” Stephen Covey-The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People.

I was listening to a podcast the other day and the speaker mentioned the phrase I’ve heard a thousand times, “Paradigm shift.”  These two words have been going over and over in my mind for the last few days and I finally decided to do some research on the subject and blog about it. 

A paradigm shift is simply a change from one way of thinking to a another.  It can be a revolution, a transformation, or a metamorphosis.  It usually happens with some sort of trigger moment.  Most of us don’t change the way we think just for the sake of change.  Something pushes us over the proverbial edge and we make the leap into a new way of thinking.  We all need a paradigm shift in some way or another.   A transformation in our thoughts, sounds refreshing doesn’t it?

Have you ever felt like you are in a rut of thinking the same negative thoughts about a person or a situation?  You get around that particular person and the same bad thoughts creep into your mind.  You wish you could change the way you see the person, but nothing seems to ever change. You go in circles with the way you view them.  It may be a situation in your life you are dealing with.  You just can’t break free from seeing the circumstances any other way.  You are constantly critical or negative.  You need a paradigm shift, a transformation, a change in the way you see things. 

How do we get this amazing shift in our thought pattern?

1) Think about what your thinking about.  Identify the negative patterns.  The next time you have a negative thought pop into your head, choose to think something positive about the person/situation instead.   

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”  Philippians 4:8

2) Let go of the past.  I know this sounds real simple.  We have all been hurt, and I’m not making light of any situation.  We can’t let our past dictate our future.  Ask God to heal you and then let it go.  Forgive the people who have hurt you and change the way you see the person.  Hurting people, hurt people. 

“I do not consider, brethren, that I have captured and made it my own [yet]; but one thing I do [it is my one aspiration]: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead.” Philippians 3:13 Amplified Bible

3) Talk to yourself.  Sometimes we need to have a positive discussion with ourselves.  Give yourself a pep talk. If you tell yourself everyday, “I hate my job.”  Then you will probably have a hard time going to work everyday and enjoying what you do.  Try telling yourself  that you enjoy your work and that you will make the most of your time while you are at work.  You will bring about a positive shift in the way you view your job!  if your job stinks that bad, then get a NEW one!   

4) Start making positive confessions.  See my blog post, “Your Words Have Power,” on May 8, 2012 for a powerful list of confessions.  Whatever you put into your mind, will come out.  Make sure you are putting positive, good stuff in, so that positive, good stuff comes out!

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and they who indulge in it shall eat the fruit of it [for death or life].” Proverbs 18:21 Amplified Bible

5) Make a decision to passionately read the Word of God (The Bible) and let it begin to change you! 

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is —his good, pleasing and perfect will.”  Romans 12:2

I would love to hear your comments on how you made a paradigm shift in your life!!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Creating A Paradigm Shift

  1. Good post. The real challenge is holding more than two paradigm/viewpoints in your head simultaneously, (although I suppose the only one that really counts is God’s.) Now that takes a renewed mind.

  2. Paradigm shifts usually happen with me in two ways. One, when I am praying, or studying God’s word and suddenly I just seem to understand how something works in a new way I never saw before. This always causes me to adjust my course and my thinking because I want to enjoy the benefits of the new understanding. I get excited about it! I feel like a Harry Potter in reverse! The second way is when I just seem to get a “vision” for something and I begin to “chase” it. Chasing a vision usually requires major changes in a person’s life and leads to major paradigm shifts. Good article, Misty. I enjoyed the thought.

Leave a Reply

