Learning to enjoy the “Have To’s.”

Life can get pretty hectic.  We all have these things in life that I’ll call the, “Have to’s.”  Those are the things that aren’t necessarily fun and entertaining, but we have to do them.  It could be cleaning the house, doing the laundry, going to work, mowing the lawn, or grocery shopping.  Most of us drudge through it and even complain a little, (or a lot) through the process.  I realized the other day that I have a real problem with not enjoying the things I have to do in life.  I found myself looking forward to the things I wanted to do, while life was passing me by.   This is a huge problem, because most of the time I am doing things that I have to do; more than the things that I want to do for fun.  If I don’t learn to enjoy the have to’s, then I will spend a huge portion of my time not enjoying life!   It really is a mind-set that has to be changed on the inside of us.  We have to choose to enjoy doing the things we have to do, just like we enjoy the fun things we get to do.  God really does want us to enjoy all aspects of our lives, even when we’re cleaning house, or doing laundry, or having to go somewhere we really don’t want to go.  We really do, “Get to” do it all anyway!

“Nothing is better for a man than that he should eat and drink, and that his soul should enjoy good in his labor. This also, I saw, was from the hand of God.”  Ecclesiastes 2:24

The next time you have to do something you don’t really want to do, choose to enjoy it.  Make the most of your time.  Change you attitude about it and choose to enjoy the have to’s in life.  Listen to your favorite playlist on your iPod, sing, dance, smile, laugh while you work.  Be thankful you have a home to clean, clothes to wash, a job to go to and make it fun!  You will enjoy your life a lot more and the people around you will too!   

“The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).” John 10:10 Amplified Bible

I hope you have an abundant, overflowing – joy kinda day! 🙂 

p.s. Whistle while you work, it’s kinda fun! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Learning to enjoy the “Have To’s.”

  1. So true! I wrote the quote “enjoy the little things in life…and put it in front of my desk as a morning reminder to carry with me throughout my day. So inspiring,keep up the great blogs. I look forward to them! Jan

Leave a Reply

