Let me tell you a secret…

 

Who do you share your secrets with?  If I had to guess, it’s probably not with your acquaintances on Facebook, or even the majority of your “friends.”  Most of us only share our secrets with those who are really, really close to us.  These are the people we can truly trust, because we know they won’t go tell everyone our most intimate thoughts. 

Do you know that God is the same way?  He only shares His secrets with those who are really, really close to Him.  God shares His secrets with the people who fear Him.  Check out this verse in Psalm 25:14… 

“Friendship with the LORD is reserved for those who fear him. With them he shares the secrets of his covenant.”

 

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.” Proverbs 9:10 

Most of us have heard these scriptures at some point.  We are supposed to fear God.  When you hear the word “fear”, you automatically think of something you are really, really scared of, right.  The word, “Fear,” used in this scripture has a totally different meaning.  God doesn’t want us to be scared of Him.  How can we be intimate with a God we are afraid of? 

So, what does it mean to fear God?  It means that we are terrified to be away from God.  It means that we honor, respect, esteem, and stand in awe of God, more than anything else, or anyone else.  When we fear God we love what God loves, and we hate what God hates. 

God is passionate about His relationship with us.  He wants to have an intimate relationship with us, but we have to fear Him!  He wants to share His secrets with us, but we have to fear Him.

 

 

“You must worship no other gods, but only the LORD, for he is a God who is passionate about his relationship with you.” Exodus 34:14 NLT

When you FEAR God you will have these actions that follow:

1) You will obey God immediately.  Not a week from now, a month from now, or a year from now.  When God asks you to do something, you do it instantly.  (Read about Abraham & Isaac in Genesis 22)

2) You obey God even when it doesn’t make sense.

3) You obey God even if it hurts.

4) You obey God even if you don’t see a benefit. Most of us have to see the benefits first: If you pray God will do this. If you give, God will do this… what if you don’t see any benefits? Will you still obey?

God has some pretty awesome secrets He wants to tell you.  Run to God today with all your might. Desire Him more than anything.  Stand in awe of God and see what He has to share with you!!! 

 

8 thoughts on “Let me tell you a secret…

  1. “Terrified to be away from God”. I like that, because it is another way of saying “I’m in love with His presence”. When we are in love with his presence we immediatly obey because we love his presence. It does not matter to me if it makes sense or not, just how does it affect his presence in my life?
    I’ve been blogging for a little while now, and I have found a few people I really like to read. Sometimes I wish I were not so busy, but keep up the good work, Misty. There is a lot of truth in what you write. I know I can always count on something godd when I come here.

    • Yes! Amen! I like to say I am addicted to the presence of God! Once you get a dose of Jesus you are ruined in a good way! I appreciate you reading and your kind words! Thank you!

  2. Misty, what a wonderful expression of your love for Christ. I have never blogged before, and your quick response to my first post has truly confirmed that God was truly the author of this decision.
    I look forward to reading the rest of your posts. His peace be upon you+

Leave a Reply

