Finding Your Purpose

Last night I met a friend for dinner at a quaint little authentic Mexican restaurant.  My friend is a wonderful, mighty woman of God, I might add.  You know who you are!  As the sound of up-beat Mexican music played in the background, the topic came up of finding our purpose in life.  The age old question, “Why am I here?”  I love talking about purpose.  It inspires me to do more, be more and bless others more! Let me start off by giving you the definition of purpose.  

Image

YOU HAVE A PURPOSE

Purpose defined = The reason for which something is done or created or for which something exists.

We have all asked ourselves at some point, What is my purpose?  Why am I here?  Why was I created? You may still be asking yourself these questions.  I want to encourage you today and hopefully help you findImage the answers to your purpose.  Finding your purpose is really simple.  Sometimes we make it complicated, but it really is simple.  Let me show you why…

Finding your purpose involves asking yourself 3 basic questions:

1) What are you passionate about? What is the one thing that moves you to the core? 

2) What are you GREAT at, not just good at it, but GREAT at? This one thing will cause you to stand out, and make a difference in your world?

3) What is it that you do that brings in the most revenue? People who love what they do are the most successful people.  Are you doing what you love?

When you find your purpose you will live an inspired life.  Too often, I think we compare ourselves to others, and think that we have no purpose.  You may feel like you are not accomplishing something great.  I want to encourage you today, that your purpose is found in your every day life!  Here’s what God’s Word says:

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.” Colossians 3:23

I believe God wants us to live every day with the purpose of glorifying Him.  We are here on this planet to bring God glory.  Everthing we do and say, God wants us to be a light for Him in this world. 

“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden.” Matthew 5:14

God is calling each of us to make a difference in our sphere of influence.  Ask yourself, “How can I bless someone today?”  “How can I make a difference in someone’s life for Jesus?”  “How can I show the Love of Christ today?” 

You may work in an office, your purpose is to make a difference there.  Be a light, shine for Jesus in your workplace.  You may be a stay-at-home Mom, your purpose is to teach your children how to love the Lord with all of their heart.  You may own your own business, your purpose is to make a positive impact on the lives of your customers, show them Christ!  You don’t have to be a famous preacher to make a difference in this world.  You are impacting people every day for good or for bad. 

Our overall purpose is the same: To love God with all of our heart, to live each day bringing Him glory, to make a difference for Christ in our sphere of influence, and to bless others. 

Your specific purpose is tied to what you are most passionate about, what you are truly GREAT at, and what brings you the most revenue.  Pray and ask God to show you more about your specific purpose.  Don’t stress about it… if you get off track, God knows where to find you.  🙂

Living a life of purpose and passion starts with the right prespective.  When you realize that you are able to make an impact every day in your sphere of influence you will approach life differently.  Be inspired today to do more, be more and bless more! Your purpose is in your every day life.

“I raised you up for this very purpose, that I might display my power in you and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” Romans 9:17

Live your life on purpose today! Make it GREAT!!!

8 thoughts on “Finding Your Purpose

  1. This is awesome! I think about my purpose all the time. I’m constantly praying about God’s purpose for my life and figuring out what more I can do right now to live out that purpose. Great post 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing another great post. I shudder at the thought of arriving at God’s throne and finding I missed the reason He gave me life. If I want to know and do His will, and He wants me to know and do His will, that gives me confidence He will show me His plan and I’ll be able to figure it out day by day. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

