I bought a Zoo!!!

I didn’t really buy a zoo, but my husband and I did go to the zoo over the weekend.  The zoo has a special place in our relationship, it was the destination of our first date!  This was also our first trip to the zoo in Minnesota. Needless to say, we were pretty excited.  The weather was perfect and the sun was shining, what a gorgeous day for the zoo.  As we arrived, the first exhibit we came to was the Primate House.  I love monkeys.  They have such great personalities and they are so fun to watch.  I took a few good photos of a baby monkey sitting next to his Mother, at least I think it was his Mother.  She was scratching his back and keeping him clear from ticks I assumed. We then ventured into the indoor Primate house, where the gorilla’s are kept.  We came upon a fairly small enclosure that held two large gorillas.  The first gorilla was putting on a show for all to see.  He was sitting on a rock near the glass puting hay on top of his head as the crowd around the glass giggled.  The other gorilla in the enclosure was a little different.  As I looked at his charcoal black face I could see a sadness in his eyes.  He was just surviving it seemed.  He was caged behind the glass everyday, as countless people came by to see what he looked like.  I could see that his only wish was to be free.  To run, to play, to swing from the trees.  Freedom was his aspiration.  If you’ve seen the movie Zookeeper, and you remember Bernie, the gorilla who goes out to eat at TGI Friday’s, well this gorilla did not have that luxury.  He was confined to his cage, day and night, with no escape.  I’m pretty sure this gorilla couldn’t secretly speak English either.  It made me realize that some people have this same problem, not that they can secretly speak English, but they are longing to be free.  Even though they are not confined to a physical cage in life, they have allowed themselves to be imprisoned in their minds.  They have chains, weights, and burdens in this life that keep them down, discouraged, and hopless. 

I want to encourage you today that you can break free from whatever it is that holds you back.  You can be like Bernie the gorilla!  Go where you have always dreamed of going!  Do what you are passionate about.  Even if it is eating at T.G.I. Friday’s.

Where the spirit of the Lord is there is Freedom” 2 Corinthians 3:17

God desires for his children to walk in freedom in every area of life.  It is easy to get into a rut, and allow ourselves to feel imprisoned by wrong thoughts, circumstances that don’t seem to be changing, burdens that are to much to bare.  God wants you to have a fresh new hope today!  Hope literally means, “A happy anticipation that something good is about to happen!”  Get your hope back! God has a great plan for you.  Nothing is to difficult for our God. Give your circumstances to Him and He will carry the load.  Is your mind like a crazy zoo?  Are you struggling with wrong thoughts that have you imprisoned?  I have good news, today is your day to break free.  Begin to declare over yourself, “I have the mind of Christ.”  (1 Corinthians 2:16) 

Freedom is such a great thing.  You see, the first gorilla I came across was in the exact same place as the second gorilla, he was confined behind the glass, but he had a different outlook.  He was making the most of the situation.  He was friendly, playing with the hay and making us all laugh.  I am convinced that our ability to be happy is not based on our circumstances, but rather our perspective.  How do you see your life? Are you thankful for what God has given you, or do you constantly complain?  If you keep complaining, you will remain right where you are at.  Ouch… that’s a tough statement, but it is so true.

The Bible tells us in John 10:10 that Jesus came so we could have life and have it to the full.  My prayer is that you are enjoying your life today, to the full, until it overflows!  Begin to smile. Let the weights fall off.  Be FREE! 

Here are two more photos of the animals I saw this weekend:  Two of my favs: The Giraffe & the Zebra

If you liked today’s post please feel free to leave a reply or click LIKE. I would be delighted to know this helped you today. God bless!

7 thoughts on “I bought a Zoo!!!

  1. You continue to confirm why I have you linked at mt site. 🙂 I couldn’t agree with you more and I hope people who visit me also visit you. The person in bondage may not need to learn english, but to defeat the devil we do need to learn “God’s language”. It’s all in God’s Word for us to learn. He put a design to everything. I linked you because it is evident to me you understand that design and write it well. I want to see as many people set free and have victory as possible! If your site can help do that, I’m all for it. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

