Rabbits, Peeps & Jesus

Rabbits, Peeps & JesusPeeps

It’s Good Friday! This is the day we remember the sacrifice that Jesus made for us on the cross at Calvary.  Christ endured the most agonizing pain you could ever imagine so that you and I can receive salvation, healing, freedom and so much more. 

So what do rabbits, peeps and Jesus have in common?  Rabbits are known for multiplying themselves at a rapid rate. It’s kind of a funny analogy, but in the same way Jesus wants us to tell others about Him, and duplicate ourselves as Christ followers. We are His hands & feet here on the earth.  Who will know how awesome our God is, unless we go and tell others of His great love for us?  Jesus told us to go and make disciples of all men.  We can easily become comfortable in our own “little world,” and fail to reach out to others around us. When we are truly filled with the life of Christ, we will have an overwhelming desire to tell others about God. There is something about the life of Christ on the inside of you that compels you to tell someone else of the good things that God has done.  I recently had a customer at work that lost her husband to cancer over Christmas.  She was left with the pain of her loss and two teenagers to raise without a Father.  Of course, my heart went out to her and her children.  I wanted to do something in some way to let her know that God loved her and her kids, and that He still had a plan for them.  For a couple of weeks I ignored the prompting of the Lord to reach out to her.  I had thoughts going through my mind like, She’s a customer from work and she really doesn’t know me that well.  What will she think if I call her and try to reach out to her?  I didn’t want to come across weird or like I was stalking her, but the opportunity came up again and I was able to buy them dinner and take it over to their home.  I invited the kids to attend youth group and the whole family to come and visit our church.  Since then, I have called her a couple of times and left a voicemail to let her know I was thinking of her and praying for her and the kids.  Today, she called me back.  She expressed her gratitude and told me that she could really tell that I cared and it made all the difference.  Most of the time people come our way on a daily basis that we can help.  We just have to open our eyes and begin to see.  Isn’t that what sharing Jesus is all about?  When we take the time to let someone know we really care and we value them.  Ask yourself this, “When is the last time I showed someone that I really care?” If it’s been a while make a decision now to make a difference in someone’s life today. 

Peeps… let’s move on to Peeps.  Peeps are those gooey marshmallow bunnies and chicks that you usually only see at Easter.  I recently went to the Mall of America and they actually have a very large Peeps Store with free samples I might add!  I love that store.  Being a Youth Pastor with my husband makes it easy for me to keep up with the current lingo teenagers are speaking these days.  “Peeps,” is basically slang for friends.  When I think of Easter, I think about spending time with family and friends.  I think God wants us to take time to love the people in our lives, and love them a lot.  Sometimes holidays can be difficult, especially if your family doesn’t get along all that great.  I am reminded of the scripture in Mark 12:30-31:

“And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’ The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.”

God wants us to extend love to the Peeps in our life, including your family! There is nothing greater than Love.  Hmmm… isn’t that why Jesus went to the cross for us?  Maybe it’s time to let go of the offenses and start fresh in your relationships.  Let God do a work in your heart this Easter weekend.  Jesus went to the cross, died, descended into the depths of hell and rose again on the third day so you can have freedom in your relationships.  If you have some “peeps” you aren’t really digging right now in your life, make a change.  Decide to let it go! Jesus died so that you can have peace.  Love and unity is so powerful, that the Bible says in Psalm 133:1 & 3 that God commands a blessing on you when you choose to walk in love and unity in your life.  

“Behold, how good and how pleasant it is for brethren to dwell together in unity! For there the LORD commanded the blessing, even life for evermore.”

I encourage you today to remember the sacrifice Jesus made for you on the cross.  Reach out to others and show them God’s love.  You can make a difference!  Choose to walk in love and unity with all your Peeps J  I want to leave you with this scripture today. 

I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows). John 10:10

What is stopping you from having and enjoying life today?  Put it behind you. Jesus already took care of it at the cross.  Be free and move forward into the abundant life Christ has for you today. 

Have a blessed Easter!  I hope the Easter Bunny brings you Peeps!

One thought on “Rabbits, Peeps & Jesus

Leave a Reply

